Georgia

Source: Russia welcomes Georgia opposition victory

Secondary source: Winning Coalition in Georgia Demands Vote Recounts
This wasn’t going to be my original story, but once I saw that information about Turkey voting to allow military engagements in Syria was already posted I had to come up with a backup.
I chose this one as it relates to Russian politics, a subject near and dear to my heart.
Basically, (and I’m going to be ignoring most historical issues of separatist regions such as Abkhazia or South Ossetia, soviet era grudges, linguistic grudges, etc.) a rather wealthy fellow by the name of Bidzina Ivanishvili and his opposition party in Georgia have won a significant number of parliamentary seats as well as securing him the position of Prime Minister. It’s the first time in Georgia’s recent history where there’s been a transfer of power through democratic means and for that reason alone it’s rather interesting. However, it still remains to be seen if it will be a peaceful transfer.
I know very little about Ivanishvili, and while I wasn’t a terribly big fan of Saakashvili I’m hesitant about an oligarch with many ties to Moscow coming in to power. It strikes me that perhaps it’s a traditional Russian power-play to gain political control of a neighbor state. Perhaps Georgia will become involved in the CIS now? Or the Eurasian Economic Community? I don’t really know what to make of this yet but I’m very curious to see where it goes.

Leave a Reply

